Join us Thursday night for the 2023 National Fall Membership Kickoff

UPDATE: This event has passed, but the video of the 2023 National Fall Membership Kickoff is embedded at the bottom of this post.


Fall Cub Scout recruiting season is almost here, and the BSA has planned the perfect virtual event to make sure you’re prepared.

You’re invited to attend the 2023 National Fall Membership Kickoff scheduled for Thursday, Aug. 17, at 8 p.m. Eastern/7 p.m. Central/6 p.m. Mountain/5 p.m. Pacific.

The event is open to everyone, including BSA volunteers at all levels, and will feature some best practices and tips to make your unit’s joining event the best it can be.

Click here to register.

“Our goal is to educate, inspire and activate volunteers around the country,” says Otto Goedhart, the BSA’s manager of membership growth. “We hope to inspire them with stories of the profound impact our organization makes in the lives of families in order to help them execute an effective fall recruitment.”

The high-energy event will be led by a mix of BSA staff and volunteers, including statements from the BSA’s Chief Scout Executive, National Chair and others.

What topics will be discussed at the 2023 Fall Membership Kickoff?

Among the topics covered:

  • the BSA’s new fee structure;
  • updating your BeAScout pin;
  • how BSA staff and volunteers can best work together;
  • how to bring Scouting to areas where school access is difficult or not allowed;
  • how to conduct an effective and efficient signup night;
  • the benefits of peer-to-peer recruitment;
  • the benefits of conducting a separate parent orientation event;
  • how to promote Scouting via social media;
  • and how to start new units.

By the end of the evening, we guarantee you’ll be energized and ready to recruit new members this fall.

What do I need to do to Be Prepared for this event?

Nothing!

Just register in advance, then log on at the appropriate time and put your listening ears on.

If you’d like to do some research to familiarize yourself with some of the concepts that will be discussed, we suggest:

2023 BSA National Membership Kickoff Webinar from Boy Scouts of America on Vimeo.


About Aaron Derr 421 Articles
Aaron Derr is the senior editor of Scout Life and Scouting magazines, and also a former Cubmaster and Scouts BSA volunteer.