Webelos to Arrow of Light transition gets a second option

The exciting changes to Cub Scouting are still a year away, but there’s good news for leaders of Cub Scouts, especially second-year Webelos, to ease the transition process.

Cub Scouts who have earned the Webelos rank as of June 1, 2015, and are moving on to earning the Arrow of Light will now have two options for completing the Arrow of Light:

Option 1: He may continue to work out of the current handbook and complete the Arrow of Light requirements as stated.

Option 2: He may begin using the new Webelos Handbook and the Webelos Den Leader Guide for the Webelos adventures. If he chooses this option:

  • He must complete the four defined required adventures.
  • To satisfy the requirement for three electives, he may use EITHER the new adventure electives OR activity badges earned under the current program but not used to fulfill Webelos rank requirements.

Previously only Option 2 was available, meaning when first-year Webelos transitioned to the second-year Webelos program in 2015, they would need to get the new book and earn their Arrow of Light Award under the redesigned program.

They may still do that, or they may choose Option 1 and stick with the current handbook and requirements as they finish Cub Scouts.

How do you decide between Option 1 and Option 2?

Webelos den leaders should look closely at the requirements for both the current and new programs prior to making the call on which way to go in 2015.

The new program has been built with an increased focus on the transition to Boy Scouts and may well be the best way to go for some dens and boys.

So sit with your fellow leaders and choose carefully! Your boys deserve it.

More about the transition

The updated transition plan was first announced on June 30 on the Program Updates page of scouting.org and was the result of continuing feedback about the transition from Webelos rank to earning the Arrow of Light. (In other words: Yes, the BSA is listening!)

That same announcement (PDF) includes guidance for how LDS units can seamlessly transition to the new Cub Scouting program.

What about Tigers, Wolves and Bears? Their transition remains the same:


Every Cub Scout deserves a great experience this year, too!

Some leaders are so excited about the changes to Cub Scouting in 2015 that they’re losing sight of the full year of Cub Scouting fun between now and then.

Don’t let that happen in your den or pack. Be sure that the 2014-2015 Cub Scouting season is one filled with learning, growing and having fun.

About Bryan Wendell 3281 Articles
Bryan Wendell, an Eagle Scout, is the founder of Bryan on Scouting and a contributing writer.