Scouting America names its National Alumnus of the Year for 2024

The BSA Alumni Association has named Tim Brown of Nicholasville, Kentucky, its 2024 National Alumnus of the Year, as announced at the 2024 National Annual Meeting.

The award is presented to one worthy alumnus who has performed exemplary service to the alumni movement on a national level.

A news release from the BSA Alumni Association notes that “Brown’s enthusiasm for the future of Scouting is contagious, and he has consistently innovated in positive ways to reach all alumni.”

Brown is involved in a wide range of areas in Scouting, including Philmont Scout Ranch, the Order of the Arrow and the National Scouting Museum. He has been instrumental in the planning of alumni reunions, the assembly of camp alumni associations, the SPARK alumni database and member portal, and the Inaugural National Gathering of Alumni.

On the Alumni Association National Committee, Brown has served with distinction in the areas of council support and alumni committees. Notably, Brown led the Alumni Relations Exhibit and Alumni Adventure Complex at the 2023 National Scout Jamboree.

Brown is also active in his local area, where he currently is the state commander of Kentucky for the Sons of the American Revolution.

Territory winners also announced

Keel Ross, from Morrison, Colorado, is the 2024 honoree for Territories 1, 2 and 3.

Ross has been active in Scouting for more than 40 years and is an Eagle Scout from Troop 342 of Eden Prairie, Minnesota. Prior to becoming a member of the National BSA Alumni Committee on the Council Support Team, he had remained active at the local council level in a wide variety of capacities for nearly three decades.

The Pikes Peak Council, Transatlantic Council and Greater Colorado Council all have benefited from Ross’ work. His service has been crucial to the Philmont Staff Association in leading fundraising efforts, and his work has extended internationally to the Gilwell Fellowship and the Kandersteg International Scout Center.

Professionally, Ross has had a successful career in information technology for the military and federal civilian service. Active in his community, Ross remains involved in his church and with a variety of youth sports after his many championships in the arenas of cycling and skiing.

Dr. Spencer A. Long, from Prospect Heights, Illinois, is the 2024 honoree for Territories 4, 5, 6 and 9. Long is the founder and inaugural chair of the BSA Alumni Association Educators Affinity Group, which has grown to more than 170 members and has hosted three national scholarship merit badge clinics.

Under Dr. Long’s leadership, this group has also developed its Elbert K. Fretwell Outstanding Educator Award and the BSA Alumni Educators Thank You program. Dr. Long’s service has greatly benefitted the National Eagle Scout Association, for which he has created a training guide to effectively complete NESA scholarship applications. His labors in this area have been featured at the National Order of the Arrow Conference, the National Scout Jamboree and on this very blog.

Dr. Long continues to serve on the Territories NESA Scholarship Selection committees and will be serving on the National NESA Scholarship Selection Committee beginning in 2024. In his career and community, both locally and nationally, Dr. Long has left a significant impact as a leader of his school district’s board of education, Central Michigan University and Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity.

Kay Trick, from New Berlin, Pennsylvania, is the 2024 honoree for Territories 10, 11, 12 and 13. Over her 40 years of involvement in Scouting, she has helped 37 young people achieve the rank of Eagle Scout. Notably, she is the first woman to receive the Order of the Arrow’s Distinguished Service Award.

Nationally, Trick serves as the merchandising coordinator on the finance committee of the Alumni Association, leading efforts to engage alumni and sustain the financial health of the Alumni Association. Trick was critical to the success of the inaugural National Gathering of Alumni at the Philmont Training Center, serving as the director of registration and trading post sales. In this role, she oversaw the event’s entire registration needs and was the primary point of contact with the Philmont Training Center.

Always mindful of the needs of her home council, she serves as the Susquehanna Council commissioner and alumni chair, working hard to maintain and build new connections with the local alumni there. Professionally, Trick is retired from a career in manufacturing and retail management.

Bill Litton, from St. Cloud, Florida, is the 2024 honoree for Territories 7, 8, 14, 15 and 16. Litton became an Eagle Scout in the Central Florida Council in 1989 and is still active there, where he currently serves as the council alumni and NESA chairman.

At the 2017 and 2023 National Scout jamborees, Litton has led the efforts of the emergency management teams and notably, he co-founded and co-chairs the Emergency Management Affinity Group. He has served as the Territory 16 alumni lead since 2022 and on the Alumni Association national committee, for which he has labored as the Southern Territory council support coordinator since 2019.

Litton has proven himself adept at connecting with council leadership, both with volunteers and professionals. Initially, half of the councils in the five territories were without organized alumni committees. Now, under Litton’s leadership, alumni relations have dramatically improved in a majority of those councils. Professionally, Litton has selflessly given a lifetime of service and leadership to the state of Florida in the area of emergency management.

About Aaron Derr 448 Articles
Aaron Derr is the senior editor of Scout Life and Scouting magazines, and also a former Cubmaster and Scouts BSA volunteer.