Scouters to receive 2022 Silver Buffalo, Silver Antelope awards, Scouting’s top national and territorial volunteer honors

The Boy Scouts of America exists thanks to the efforts of volunteers on every level. From den leaders to National Jamboree staff, everyone’s service helps transform the lives of this country’s youth, preparing them to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes.

For Scouters whose work affects the Scouting movement on the council, territory and national levels, the BSA bestows what is known as the “Silver family” of BSA awards. This includes the council-level Silver Beaver, territory-level Silver Antelope and national-level Silver Buffalo.

This year’s honorees join an illustrious list of people who have given noteworthy and extraordinary service to youth, dating back to 1925 for Silver Buffalo recipients and 1942 for Silver Antelope honorees.

2022 Silver Buffalo honorees

This year’s Silver Buffalo recipients are (* – denotes Eagle Scout):

Timothy Beaty*Pleasant View, Utah. Beaty promoted the Distinguished Conservation Service Awards during his 28 years on the committee, helping in a 600% increase in youth earning the awards. He was instrumental in the Order of the Arrow’s conducting the BSA’s largest conservation project since World War II: Arrow Corps 5.

Devang Desai*Coral Gables, Fla. With his expertise as an attorney, Desai has helped the BSA’s national executive board navigate Chapter 11 reorganization. He has supported the Order of the Arrow on the national and regional levels and has been a member of the Southern Region executive board.

Jeffrey Goldsmith*, South Orange, N.J. Goldsmith has served on many committees, including the national advancement committee, the national Scouts BSA committee and the national BSA STEM committee, to name a few. He has also helped improve processes and communications in unit service.

Michael Lanning*Pacific Palisades, Calif. Lanning guided a four-year effort to rewrite and enhance all Scoutmaster training. He also created and staffed a Scoutmaster training session at the Philmont Training Center, which equipped hundreds of Scoutmasters with Scoutcraft and leadership skills.

Richard Mason*Hoboken, N.J. Mason has helped the BSA during its Chapter 11 reorganization by serving as the volunteer chair on the ad hoc committee. He also served on the BSA’s Churchill Task Force focused on local council financial sustainability.

Jin Matsumoto*, Lawrenceville, Ga. Matsumoto has served at seven National and nine World Jamborees. He will soon be serving as a diversity, equity and inclusion lead for the National Service Territory 14.

Paul Moffat*, Las Vegas, Nev. For eight years, Moffat served as chair of the Duty to God breakfasts during BSA national annual meetings. He has also helped add emphasis on the Duty to God in the Cub Scout and Scouts BSA advancement requirements.

James Morris*Indianapolis, Ind. Morris has served as the Crossroads of America Council’s chair of the Governor’s Luncheon for Scouting, which raises more than $1 million each year – the council’s largest fundraiser. He has also served as the executive director of the United Nations world food program to ensure millions of children around the world are fed.

Stephen Nicolaysen*Nampa, Idaho. Nicolaysen has been a key leader in the National Camp Accreditation Program, ensuring camps and properties nationwide meet high standards. He has also served as a BSA Foundation trustee and member of the Philmont Ranch properties committee.

Rev. Arties Phillips Jr., Chicago, Ill. For more than 60 years, Phillips has been involved in the BSA and has connected ministers in African Methodist Episcopal Churches, impressing upon them the importance of Scouting. Under his leadership with two troops, more than 30 youth have earned the Eagle Scout rank.

David Rumbarger Jr.*, Tupelo, Miss. As the national operations council chair, he has been instrumental in the reorganization of BSA’s national service territories. He organized teams and helped facilitate people’s input in that reorganization.

John Severino*, Princeton, N.J. Severino has conceived the first Sea Scouter strategic training plan for the 21st Century and served as the first course director of the national Sea Scout top gun youth leadership training. He has also helped in the increase in Catholic-sponsored units and youth membership throughout seven Southern California councils.

Darlene Sprague, Niagara Falls, N.Y. As the resource chair of the national commissioner service team, Sprague has enabled and trained unit commissioners as well as improved the online systems and created online trainings to help commissioners. She’s also the editor of a national electronic newsletter that goes to every commissioner.

William SugdenAtlanta, Ga. Sugden has helped the BSA in mediations and court hearings during its Chapter 11 reorganization. He has met with more than 100 councils, sharing his expertise while serving on the ad hoc committee.

Brigitte TherivelKingwood, Texas. Therivel has designed, created and implemented new activities at the National and World Jamborees. For nearly three decades, she has also worked on improving the safety of camps by ensuring the implementation of national standards, COPE and Climb on Safely.

Survivors of abuse in Scouting. The BSA recognizes the survivors of abuse in Scouting for the courage they displayed in coming forward. Their efforts continue to help the BSA strengthen its practices in assuring every youth is protected. Their courage is a great service to the BSA and to the youth of our nation.

Check back here next month for more details on each Silver Buffalo honoree. They will all be honored in a virtual ceremony.

2022 Silver Antelope honorees

The Silver Antelope Award honorees this year are:

Territory 1

Dan Hunker, Clackamus, Ore.

Michael Johnson, Corvallis, Ore.

Territory 2

Rich Lieber, Colorado Springs, Colo.

James Tarleton, Tucson, Ariz.

William Topkis, Park City, Utah

Territory 3

Thomas Giugni, Fairfield, Calif.

Anne-Marie Lamarche, Piedmont, Calif.

Territory 4

Charles Gitzen, Roseville, Minn.

Steven Serrot, Hiawatha, Iowa

Territory 5

Scott Senn Boswell Sr., Kansas City, Mo.

Joseph Burleski, Chesterfield, Mo.

Territory 6

Susan Simmons, Hoffman Estates, Ill.

Michael Tangen, Lake Zurich, Ill.

Territory 7

Forrest Bjerkaas, Katy, Texas

Ben Turner, Jr., Austin, Texas

Territory 8

Max Carrier, Mabank, Texas

Robert Spinks, Jones, Okla.

Territory 9

Laurie Champion, Saline, Mich.

Connie Everhart, Powell, Ohio

Territory 10

Randy DeFrank, Rochester, N.Y.

James Griffin, Hammondsport, N.Y.

Territory 11

Cheryl Izyk, Palmer, Mass.

Rochelle Smith, Kingston, Mass.

Territory 12

Michael Huneke, Whiteford, Md.

Gordon Leary, Essex, Md.

Territory 13

Mark Barnard, Chester, N.J.

Thomas Kraeutler, Oakhurst, N.J.

Territory 14

Timothy Brown, Nicholasville, Ky.

Daniel Van Horn, Memphis, Tenn.

Territory 15

Mark Larson, Richmond, Va.

Rev. David Surrett, Rock Hill, S.C.

Territory 16

James Thielen, Parrish, Fla.

To see a map of each territory, click here.

About Michael Freeman 428 Articles
Michael Freeman, an Eagle Scout, is an associate editor of Scout Life and Scouting magazines.