2019 Order of the Arrow national officers elected; here’s who represents your region

Matt Parsons, an Eagle Scout and Sea Scout from Delaware, has been elected by his peers to serve as National Chief of the Order of the Arrow.

Parsons, along with National Vice Chief Eric Harrison of Illinois and four region chiefs, will serve and represent nearly 200,000 members of the OA, the Boy Scouts of America’s national honor society.

Their terms will run throughout 2019, which will be a historically significant year for the OA.

Beginning Feb. 1, the OA will open unit elections to Scouts BSA troops, Venturing crews and Sea Scout ships. Previously, elections only were for Boy Scout troops.

The OA has welcomed female leaders since 1988, but the move will mean young women who are under 21 will be eligible for election into the service-minded society for the first time.

The busy year continues in March, when OA members will travel to Philmont Scout Ranch in New Mexico for Philbreak 2019. They’ll spend their spring break helping Philmont recover from last summer’s destructive wildfires.

Let’s meet your national OA officers and introduce you to the chief for your region. (Not sure which region you’re in? I’ve blogged about that.)

2019 National OA Chief: Matt Parsons

  • From: Millsboro, Del. (Del-Mar-Va Council)
  • Scouting background: Member since 2006, Eagle Scout, Sea Scout
  • OA background: Vigil Honor member from Nentego Lodge
  • Education: Studies architectural engineering at Delaware Technical Community College
  • Favorite hobby: Sailing
  • Quotable: “2019 will be a turning point for our organization. The things that we accomplish this year will leave an impact on not only how effective our program is today, but how successful we are in the future.”

2019 National OA Vice Chief: Eric Harrison

  • From: Taylorville, Ill. (Abraham Lincoln Council)
  • Scouting background: Member since 2006, Eagle Scout
  • OA background: Vigil Honor member from Illinek Lodge
  • Education: Studies marketing at Lincoln Land Community College, intends to major in marketing at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Favorite hobbies: Playing soccer and spending time with friends and family
  • Quotable: “We have a special opportunity to impact Arrowmen nationwide in 2019. I’m looking forward to taking part in this special time for our Order!”

2019 Central Region Chief: Brandon Stahl

  • From: Mishawaka, Ind. (LaSalle Council)
  • Scouting background: Member since 2007, Eagle Scout
  • OA background: Vigil Honor member from Sakima Lodge
  • Education: Intends to major in political science and wants to work for the State Department
  • Favorite hobbies: Hiking and camping
  • Quotable: “Extremely excited for the work we have planned in 2019 and looking forward to focusing on offering support to all our lodges in the coming year. Hoping to visit as many lodge events as possible around our region and nation.”

2019 Southern Region Chief: Sid Salazar

  • From: Franklin, Tenn. (Middle Tennessee Council)
  • Scouting background: Member since 2007, Eagle Scout
  • OA background: Vigil Honor member from Wa-Hi-Nasa Lodge
  • Education: Studies business administration at Georgia Tech University
  • Favorite hobby: Playing basketball
  • Quotable: “This coming year is one filled with incredible potential and opportunity. I am ecstatic to be welcoming our first youth females into the Order, and developing more youth leaders across the country.”

2019 Northeast Region Chief: Ethan Mooney

  • From: Zelienople, Pa. (Moraine Trails Council)
  • Scouting background: Member since 2004, Eagle Scout
  • OA background: Vigil Honor member from Kuskitannee Lodge
  • Education: Studies cybersecurity/computer science at Slippery Rock University
  • Favorite hobbies: Soccer, skiing, kayaking and hanging with friends
  • Quotable: “I am looking forward to seeing what we are able to accomplish.”

2019 Western Region Chief: Antonyo Mitchell

  • From: Everett, Wash. (Mount Baker Council)
  • Scouting background: Member since 2007, Eagle Scout
  • OA background: Vigil Honor member from Sikhs Mox Lamonti Lodge
  • Education: Studies molecular and cellular biology at the University of Washington
  • Favorite hobbies: Photography and playing video games
  • Quotable: “I am excited to travel, meet and discuss best practices from chapter and lodge chiefs across the country.”

Your three national youth officers

As national chief, Matt Parsons joins 2018-19 National Venturing Officers’ Association President Dominic Wolters and 2018-19 National Sea Scout Boatswain Jack Otto as the three highest-ranking youth leaders in the Boy Scouts of America.

These three youth leaders sit on the BSA’s National Executive Board, helping shape the future of our great movement.

As one of his first acts, Matt will join Dominic, Jack and a group of other impressive Scouts and Venturers at the BSA’s Report to the Nation in March in Washington, D.C.

About Bryan Wendell 3281 Articles
Bryan Wendell, an Eagle Scout, is the founder of Bryan on Scouting and a contributing writer.