Eagles: Apply now for 2013 NESA scholarships

Do you know an Eagle (or soon-to-be Eagle) who is graduating high school and entering college in 2013? The time has arrived for Eagle Scouts to apply for 2013 National Eagle Scout Association scholarships.

First, see who’s eligible for up to $446,000 in scholarships:

  • An Eagle Scout having passed the board of review on or before Dec. 31, 2012.
  • A graduating high-school senior (for academic and merit scholarships) or an undergraduate college student no later than completion of his junior year of college (for merit scholarships only).
  • A NESA member.

The third requirement of NESA membership is new this year. If a new Eagle isn’t currently a NESA member, he must first join the organization to be considered for NESA scholarship. (Within the first six months of an Eagle Scout’s board of review, a “special” one-year NESA membership is $20.) Read more information on the varying membership levels, and register as a NESA member.

Investing in a NESA membership opens the door for an Eagle Scout to earn up to $446,000 in college scholarships.

The applications are now “live” at NESA.orgApplications are due Dec. 31, 2012.

See below for a full list of the available 2013 NESA scholarships. (And see who won the 2012 scholarships.)

NESA Academic Scholarships ($50,000-$2,500)

STEM scholarship: Awards $50,000 (up to $12,500 per year, for four years) to one Eagle who will major in a subject focused on science, technology, engineering, or mathematics.

United Health Foundation scholarship: Awards $25,000 to one Eagle who will attend college in pursuit of a healthcare career. This person must also commit to work within an underserved community during his studies.

Mabel and Lawrence S. Cooke scholarships: Awards several tiers of scholarship funds to up to 33 Eagle Scouts. The first, a $48,000 to one Scout (up to $12,000 per year, for four years) is awarded based on academic achievements. Four additional scholarships—each $20,000 ($5,000 per year, for four years)—are awarded to four Eagle Scouts based on academic achievements. Eagles can also apply for 28 $2,500 academic grants, based on academic achievements.

National Eagle Scout Association Scholarships: Awards multiple Eagles with individual $3,000 scholarships. Number of scholarships awarded each year depends on funds available. In 2012, 28 individual NESA academic scholarships were awarded.

Read more about the academic scholarship requirements, and download an application. All applications are due Dec. 31, 2012.

NESA Merit Scholarships ($1,000-$2,500)

Robert and Rebecca Palmer Eagle Scout Scholarship: Awards two $2,500 scholarships to the top merit finalists in the country.

National Eagle Scout Association Merit Scholarships and Hall/McElwain: Awards a one-time $1,000 scholarships to winners from the four regions. The number of scholarships depends on funds. In 2012, 84 grants were awarded to Eagle Scouts based on merit.

Read more about the merit scholarship requirements, and download an applicationAll applications are due Dec. 31, 2012. 

Scholarship committees are formed in each of the four BSA regions (Northeast, Southern, Central, and Western) to review and recommend winners to the national NESA Scholarship Committee.

Be sure to review this detailed list of requirements before submitting an application for the NESA scholarships.

The winners of the 2013 NESA scholarships will be notified by mail in July 2013.

About Michael Freeman 422 Articles
Michael Freeman, an Eagle Scout, is an associate editor of Scout Life and Scouting magazines.