Homepage Forums Boy Scouts and Varsity Scouts Nuclear Science Merit Badge 4d Clarification

This topic contains 1 reply, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Q 1 month ago.

• Author

Roland Roberts

So…I’m a counselor for this badge and I just had a scout give me an unexpected answer for requirement 4d.

4d. Visit a place where radioisotopes are being used. Using a drawing, explain how and why they are used.

His answer…his home. Because we talked about how Americium-241 is used in smoke detectors.

My background is nuclear physics (PhD, 1994, U of Rochester, NY). My take on this answer is that it’s not what the requirement is asking or expecting. But…it’s hard to disallow given the wording. The preceding requirements all require a scout to learn about radiation safety and I’m pretty sure the intent of this requirement is so the scout can see those principles put into practice at a place that uses radioisotopes. I.e., the whole time-distance-shielding safety practices for an X-ray machine operator, etc.

The wording of the requirement is sufficiently broad that it’s hard to disallow this answer, but the context makes me think I should. And the fact that I’m trying to arrange a group visit to a medical imaging facility means there’s no reason to not be able to do a “real” visit.

But what do people here think?

roland

• #82118 Reply

Q

First thanks for all that you do for our boys.

That boy’s idea is good. So, run with it. Talk about the time-distance-shielding involved in smoke detectors. Ask him how close and for how long one (or maybe one’s pet) would have to be to the Am-241 to get a harmful dose of radiation. Ask the scout what he learned about the safe manufacture, distribution, and disposal of smoke detectors.

So, the drawing should include how to control for “human factors” in explaining their use (e.g., the drawing needs to include the warning labels, shielding, etc… as well as how Am-241 interacts with the environment and electronics of the detector).