Homepage Forums General Scouting Guns and Boy Scouts

This topic contains 35 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Jason 1 year, 10 months ago.

• Author

Sylvia Raison

My son is a cub scout and both my husband and I have loved everything about the program except for one aspect. Both the campout and summer camp include BB gun sessions. I am a physician and feel strongly about kids not using guns. That includes toy guns and video games.

Is it possible to participate in scouts and advance without taking part in the BB gun sessions?

(I’m not interested in hearing why anyone thinks it is OK or important to use guns, teach kids how to use guns, etc – I’d simply like to know if it is possible to participate in the rest of scouting without having to learn how to use BB guns.)

Thank you,

SR

• #34166 Reply

Q

Yes! BB guns (and in Boy Scouts, the many shooting sports electives) are optional. See if you can plan a father-son hike or maybe extra time on the archery range during the bb sessions. The only person you owe an explanation to is your son. However, it doesn’t hurt to lay out your position to other leaders. It’s okay to disagree amicably.

• #34185 Reply

Sylvia Raison

Thank you so much!

• #40353 Reply

Garrett

Absolutely appalled with the parenting skills

• #40740 Reply

Q

Yeah, and it annoys me that many parents don’t approve of my “forced marches in bear country” approach to venturing.

But you know what? The kids of such parents turn out pretty great. So, I let them have a pass on that opportunity and just arrange to meet their kids at the skeet range for the next event.

• #41690 Reply

Bond James Bond

Having your son trained like all his fellow scouts should be the objective. It is training, nothing more and nothing less.

So, are you raising a boy to become a man or a pussy?