Nominate a Scout or Venturer for the 2017 Outdoor Inspiration Awards

For each of the past two years, the Outdoor Inspiration Awards have recognized a youth who shows leadership and passion for the outdoors.

And for each of the past two years, a youth member of the Boy Scouts of America has received that award.

Coincidence? No way. The Boy Scouts of America has always taught young people values like leadership, environmental stewardship and care for others.

Venturer and Silver Award recipient Jackie Timmins won the Youth category last year. Eagle Scout Matt Moniz won it in 2015.

Who will win it next year? We’re all rooting for another worthy Scout or Venturer, but that only happens if you nominate one.

Nominations are due by 6 p.m. (PST) on Wednesday, Nov. 16. In other words, there’s not much time.

The winner will take the stage at the seventh annual Outdoor Inspiration Awards, presented by adidas Outdoor and held Jan. 11, 2017, at the Salt Palace Convention Center in Salt Lake City.

Who has won this award in past years?

The award debuted in 2015.

In 2016, Venturer Jackie Timmins took the honor.  She achieved the rank of Silver and was finishing up her last requirement for the Ranger Award at the time of her selection.

In 2015, Eagle Scout Matt Moniz was recognized. You likely remember him as the young man who saved lives on Everest after the deadly earthquake there.

Who will win the award in 2017?

Let’s hope it’s a third Scout or Venturer in a row.

Here are the rules:

The Youth category is designed to recognize an outstanding youth (between 16-21 years old) in our community who shows leadership and passion for the outdoors and is an inspiration to us all.

Consider things like:

  • Shows leadership in schools and communities
  • Sharing their sport and passion with others
  • Goes above and beyond to protect and preserve the environment

Find the nomination form and additional information here.

About Bryan Wendell 3282 Articles
Bryan Wendell, an Eagle Scout, is the founder of Bryan on Scouting and a contributing writer.