Nominations for national, regional, council Alumnus of the Year awards due Dec. 31

Updated for 2017

Why is the symbol for the Alumnus of the Year Award an acorn?

Because the individuals who receive this award at the national, council and — beginning next year — the regional level plant seeds for trees under which they may never sit.

From now through Dec. 31, Scouting Alumni and Friends (formerly called the Scouting Alumni Association) will accept nominations for the National Alumnus of the Year Award, Regional Alumnus of the Year Award and Council Alumnus of the Year Award.

The National Alumnus of the Year Award has been presented annually since 2011 and is given to an individual who, over a sustained period of time, has made significant contributions to our country through their careers, avocations, community service and service to the Boy Scouts alumni program.

The Regional Alumnus of the Year Award, which has similar qualifications, made its debut in 2016. One alumnus from each of the BSA’s four regions — Northeast, Southern, Western, Central — is recognized each year.

The Council Alumnus of the Year Award, as you might guess, is for an outstanding individual at the council level.

Anyone personally impacted by the BSA — former Scouts, family members of current and past Scouts, community leaders and more — is considered an alumnus and is eligible for these awards.

“We are trying to recognize folks who are not only distinguished but are also continuing to give back to Scouting or share Scouting’s message with others,” says Rick Bragga, vice chairman of Scouting Alumni and Friends.

At the national level, past recipients have included Jack Coughlin, who championed the BSA’s first nationwide search for Eagle Scouts; Glenn Adams, who launched an annual scholarship for Eagle Scout service projects; and Ray Capp, 2016’s winner who was a vital part of the Order of the Arrow’s 100th anniversary celebration.

How do I nominate a worthy alumnus?

Find information and nomination forms at this site.

Important note: The requirements were updated in 2016, and the link above is the only source for the official, current nomination forms.

If you have an old form from a previous year, please get rid of it.

Who has received this award in the past?

The National Alumnus of the Year Award has been presented every year since 2011. Award recipients are:

  • 2011: Jack Coughlinchampion of the BSA’s first nationwide Eagle Scout search.
  • 2012: Glenn Adams, helped identify tens of thousands of lost alumni and started the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award.
  • 2013: David Briscoeserved on numerous committees in a half-century of service to Scouting.
  • 2014: Rick Bragga, deeply involved in creating the BSA’s alumni program and author of the alumni program syllabus used at the Philmont Training Center.
  • 2015: Ed Pease, served as president of Philmont Staff Association, helping membership triple. 
  • 2016: Ray Capp, helped alumni re-engage with Scouting during the celebration of the Order of the Arrow’s 100th anniversary.
  • 2017: Dr. Robert M. Gates, the former Secretary of Defense who served as BSA National President and president of the National Eagle Scout Association.

About Bryan Wendell 3282 Articles
Bryan Wendell, an Eagle Scout, is the founder of Bryan on Scouting and a contributing writer.