Nominations open for National Alumnus of the Year Award

National-Alumnus-of-the-Year-AwardThere’s an award in Scouting so rare that it can be awarded only once per year.

It’s the BSA’s National Alumnus of the Year Award, the Scouting Alumni Association’s highest recognition.

Nominations for this honor are being accepted now, but you need to hurry; the deadline is approaching fast.

Electronically submitted nominations are due Jan. 1, 2016. Mailed submissions must be postmarked by Dec. 31, 2015.

So what’s the purpose of this award, how do you nominate someone and who are the past recipients? I have your complete guide.

What’s the purpose of the award?

The award was established to recognize BSA alumni who, over a sustained period of time, have used the skills and values they learned through their association with Scouting to make significant and long-lasting contributions to our nation through their careers, avocations and Scouting.

Who is eligible?

Any BSA alumnus, which includes anyone positively and personally impacted by the BSA — former Scouts, family members of Scouts past and present, community leaders and the millions of Americans who benefit from Scouting in their communities every day.

The nominee should be someone whose benefit on Scouting has been at the national level. (Contact your council for info on the Council Alumnus of the Year Award, which recognizes local, area or regional impact.)

Why an acorn for the award logo?

The acorn was selected to represent the BSA National Alumnus of the Year for many reasons, including:

  • Mighty oaks from little acorns grow.
  • Scouts and Scouters plant seeds for trees under which they may never sit.
  • The seed-planting analogy is applicable in many faiths and cultures.

How do I nominate someone?

  • Select a worthy nominee. Self-nomination is prohibited.
  • Download the PDF application here.
  • Gather supporting documentation, including the person’s contributions to Scouting.
  • Get the approval and signature of your local Scout executive.
  • Scan the completed form and email to or mail it to:

Scouting Alumni Association Office
SUM 322
P.O. Box 152079
Irving, Texas 75015-2079

  • Remember the deadlines: Postmarked by Dec. 31, 2015, for mailed submissions and sent by Jan. 1, 2016, for emailed submissions.
  • Also remember this: To prevent embarrassment, the candidate should not be notified of the nomination.

How is the recipient selected?

Once the submissions are gathered, a Scouting Alumni Association selection committee meets to determine whether and to whom an award will be presented.

A maximum of one recipient per year will be honored with a plaque, lapel pin, medallion, alumni square knot and a device to affix to the alumni square knot.

The honoree (assuming there is one) is recognized at the BSA’s National Annual Meeting in May.

Who has received this award in the past?

The National Alumnus of the Year Award has been presented every year since 2011. Award recipients are:

  • 2011: Jack Coughlinchampion of the BSA’s first nationwide Eagle Scout search.
  • 2012: Glenn Adams, helped identify tens of thousands of lost alumni and started the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award.
  • 2013: David Briscoeserved on numerous committees in a half-century of service to Scouting.
  • 2014: Rick Bragga, deeply involved in creating the BSA’s alumni program and author of the alumni program syllabus used at the Philmont Training Center.
  • 2015: Ed Pease, served as president of Philmont Staff Association, helping membership triple. 

Thanks to Mike Movius, chairman of the Scouting Alumni Association’s Awards and Recognition Committee, for the tip.

About Bryan Wendell 3269 Articles
Bryan Wendell, an Eagle Scout, is the founder of Bryan on Scouting and a contributing writer.