Triple Crown award may soon add the Summit as fourth option (UPDATED)

triple-crown-patchUpdated, 2 p.m. Aug. 15: Apparently I jumped the gun with some incorrect information. 

The gist is this: The proposal to add the Summit to the Triple Crown of High Adventure hasn’t yet been approved.

Here are three important clarifications that supersede what I’ve said in the original post:

1. The Sommers Alumni Association has not formally approved the extension of the Triple Crown award to the Summit. The committee will be making a proposal to do just that at its next board meeting and will take a vote. The outcome of the vote isn’t certain.

2. There are four different combinations of bases that would qualify for the Triple Crown if the proposal is approved. The SAA will include a unique version of the patch for each combination in its proposal:

a. Northern Tier, Philmont, Sea Base
b. Northern Tier, Philmont, Summit
c. Northern Tier, Sea Base, Summit
d. Philmont, Sea Base, Summit

3. The SAA has approved funding for the development of an award for Scouts who attend all four high-adventure bases. The details will be presented in a proposal to the SAA Board of Directors for approval in conjunction with the Triple Crown.

Here’s a portion of my original post:

Before the Summit Bechtel Reserve began its high-adventure offerings this year, the requirements for the Triple Crown of High Adventure were pretty simple.

It recognized Scouts and Scouters who participated in at least one high-adventure program at each of the three BSA national high-adventure bases: Philmont, Northern Tier and Sea Base.

The addition of a fourth national high-adventure base may change the playing field for the Triple Crown award.

That left many Scouts and Scouters wondering whether the Summit Bechtel Reserve will count as one of those three or whether a new award is on the way.

I’ll blog again once the committee makes its decision after it meets next week. In the meantime, you can read about the current requirements here.


  1. Clarification for those that can’t open links on their cell phones yet can read the comments and who don’t understand the bigger picture of BSA pyramid for lack of a better word:

    High Adventure bases come in two types:
    -National bases (BSA Council in Texas, our BSA Headquarters
    -Council bases (can be one’s home council or another council)

    Remember your BSA tree of leadership and more:
    BSA Council (Texas BSA Headquarters)
    Regional area (there are 4)
    your Council
    your District
    your unit (Pack, Troop, Crew, Post, Ship)

    For the Triple Crown Award ONLY National’s High Adventure Bases are recognized toward this award.

    The four National High Adventure bases are:
    – Florida Sea Base
    – Philmont
    – Northern Tier
    – Summit

    If I’m correct in my thinking, there is one in each of our 4 BSA regions now. I’ll leave that to someone else to clarify… *grins

    • Thanks! I’ve added some clarifications above. We’ll stay tuned for the final decision about changes/additions.

  2. Question, states the following:

    What programs are eligible for the award?

    All High Adventure programs at each of the Boy Scouts of America’s National High Adventure bases qualify. This includes any satellite bases and former bases now closed. For example, a summer or winter High Adventure program at Northern Tier’s Ely, Atikokan, or Bissett satellite bases qualify.

    •The basic rule is that if you received a High Adventure program participant emblem (patch) from the National High Adventure base during your program it qualifies as your participation requirement for that base.

    So why are the closed Northern Wisconsin National Canoe Base, Maine National High Adventure Area and it’s three HA bases, and Land Between the Lakes National Outdoor Adventure Center, not listed on the forms? We got some old fogeys around who have been to these bases still active

  3. Seems we need an additional award beyond the Triple Crown options being discussed — we need the Grand Slam of Scouting High Adventure — including the four major events just like with the golf and tennis tours, and like a baseball four-bagger with the bases loaded. Also, will need clarification about the Summit and if the advertised “high adventure jamborees” held at the Summit will count.

  4. Yeah, I’m wondering the same thing. Does the 2017 National Jamboree or even the 2019 World Jamboree at the summit count toward these awards?

    They are considered high adventure activities and you do most everything offered at the camp anyway.

Join the conversation