Meet your 2013 Silver Buffalo class

Words can’t adequately describe our gratitude for the sacrifice that Silver Buffalo recipients have made to Scouting over their lives, but I’ll offer two anyway: Thank you.

Thank you to the 13 men and women who will receive Scouting’s highest honor for adults. The distinguished dozen will get their medals in a special recognition ceremony at the National Annual Meeting in May in Grapevine, Texas.

And they’ll join a prestigious list that includes Jimmy Stewart, Yogi Berra, Bill Gates, Robert Baden-Powell, and many more who have kept Scouting strong for more than a century.

Here are the 2013 recipients:

The Silver Buffalo Award square knot and medal.
The Silver Buffalo Award square knot and medal.

Carlos J. Arboleya — Miami, Fla.

Jean Arnold — Lebanon, Pa.

George N. Boulukos — Freeport, N.Y.

Jack S. Butler II — Blairsville, Ga.

Raymond Capp — Nashville, Tenn.

Ralph De la Vega — Alpharetta, Ga.

Russ Hunsaker — Salt Lake City, Utah

William Keeler — Timonium, Md.

Steve McGowan — Cross Lanes, W.Va.

Ellie Morrison — Waco, Texas

Barack Obama — Washington, D.C.

John F. Pyfer, Jr. — Lancaster, Pa.

James Wilson — McLean, Va.

Related posts

2012 Silver Buffalo Award recipients

2011 Silver Buffalo Award recipients

2010 Silver Buffalo Award recipients

About Bryan Wendell 3282 Articles
Bryan Wendell, an Eagle Scout, is the founder of Bryan on Scouting and a contributing writer.