Ask the Expert: Do I use the new or old rank requirements?

Expertlogo1 UPDATE, 8:08 a.m. Feb. 5: To clarify, a boy only is officially working on one requirement at a time. That means that once he completes that rank, he moves to the new book. For example, a Second Class Scout who started work toward Second Class in 2009 would use the old requirements until he earns Second Class. He then moves to the new book for the First Class requirements.

Here's the original post:

It's time for another edition of Ask the Expert. Send us your questions, and Cracker Barrel will try to find the answers.

Rockie Yardley of Oklahoma's Last Frontier Council wondered:

What is National's official policy on the new rank requirements if a Scout has started working on a rank prior to Jan. 1, 2010? As you know, a Scout is generally working on multiple ranks at once. If he has already started working on a rank prior to Jan. 1, 2010, does he use the old requirements, new requirements, or can he choose? And does the rule apply to all ranks?

Great question. For the answer, we checked in with Joe Glasscock. He writes:

He completes the requirements for the rank he is working on. When he moves to the next rank, he should use the new requirements.

Thanks for the question, Rockie. If you have a burning Scouting-related query, send us an e-mail.