Latest Posts

Knot of the Week: Community Organization Award


When representatives from the vast network of chartered
Scouting organizations speak, the BSA listens. Want proof?

Look no further than the Community Organization Award. It began when a group of delegates
from several chartered organizations told the BSA how they wanted to recognize
adult leaders—with an award similar to the religious knots that represent the
various faith-based emblems awarded to Scouters.

The BSA accepted the offer and created the knot you see
above. Just like the purple-and-silver religious knot serves as a catchall for
every faith-based award, the purple-and-gold community organization knot serves
as a one-stop shop for the following prestigious awards:

  • Marvin M. Lewis Award, Benevolent and Protective Order of
    the Elks
  • Daniel Carter Beard Masonic Scouter Award
  • Veterans of Foreign Wars Scouter’s Achievement Award
  • American Legion Scouting Square Knot Award
  • U.S. Military Outstanding Volunteer Service Medal,
    Department of Defense
  • Herbert G. Horton Alpha Phi Omega Youth Service Award
  • Cliff Dochterman Award, International Rotarians Fellowship
    of Scouting
  • Ruritan National Scout Leader Service Award
  • Raymond Finley Sea Scout Service Award, U.S. Power
  • George Meany Award, AFL-CIO

Receive one of those awards from the applicable
organization, and you’ve earned the right to wear the Community Organization
Award knot. Congrats!

For more information, contact your chartered organization.

1 Comment on Knot of the Week: Community Organization Award

  1. Ronald Murphy // February 17, 2017 at 12:44 pm // Reply

    I hope this gets to you since this article is 7 years old.

    Are there Special Devices for this Knot to indicate what award was earned, or does one just use the BSA program device to indicate where it was earned.

    Or, no device at all?


Join the conversation